Winners announced at 2020 Amazon everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards

The winners at the 2020 Amazon everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards have been announced.In an extraordinary year for the industry, the awards celebrated 15 exceptional individuals working in the transport and logistics sector, championing their achievements and showcasing them as inspiring role models to the next generation of female talent.

The winners encompassed a wide range of career experiences and journeys, revealing the breadth of opportunities available for women in an industry so often associated with men. These individuals not only make positive contributions to the businesses for which they work, but also help community initiatives and “pay it forward” by supporting and mentoring young talent.

From the CEO who was the first female Managing Director of a rail company and is now working tirelessly to promote gender diversity in the rail industry, to the 25-year old marketing analyst helping to save her organisation £30 million, through to the young deck cadet adapting her naval training to keep her crew safe whilst promoting well-being and mental health initiatives, this year’s winners are the epitome of dedication, drive and excellence. With Covid-19 throwing the importance of the transport and logistics industry into the spotlight like never before, these women showcase that from gender diverse teams comes the innovation, strategic thinking and team loyalty that ensures continued success, even in the face of enormous pressure.  

For the first time this year, the awards introduced an ‘International Inspiration Award’ to celebrate a woman working outside the UK & Ireland who is a role model to her community. This was awarded to Mexico-based Liliana Pereira, Head of Operations LATAM at Steer. In a country where women make up just 10% of executive-committee positions, Liliana has risen to the top of her organisation, and with her has implemented pay equality across the company.

A special “Woman of the Year” award was handed to Louise Whitehouse, Managing Director Fleet Maintenance Europe at FedEx Express, who started her career in 1988 and became the youngest ever depot manager, the first step in a career defined by breaking glass ceilings and which has resulted in her becoming the first female Managing Director of FedEX.  Louise was singled out for her total commitment to helping other women succeed in the industry. She has developed mentoring and apprenticeship schemes within the business and is constantly trying to engage young women in transport and logistics as a career. A firm believer in using her position to to raise other women up and enhance their career journey, Louise set up the Women’s Network at FedEx to encourage female team members to share success stories and make vital connections with other women.

The other awards winners were:

The Freight Award – sponsored by Unipart Rail 

Above and Beyond

  • Hollie Ridley, Team Leader, Wincanton, from Worksop


Caroline Moody, Managing Director, Moody Logistics & Storage, from Northumberland

The Customer / Passenger Award – sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Vans 

Above and Beyond

  • Kirstie Bull, Manager Lewes Road Depot, Brighton & Hove buses, from Hove


  • Anne Shaw, Director of Network Resilience, Transport for West Midlands, from Birmingham

The Infrastructure Award – sponsored by Wincanton

Above and Beyond

  • Ivy Mwaura, Marketing Analyst, FedEx Express, from Nuneaton


  • Dyan Crowther, CEO, HS1 Limited, from London

The Supply Chain Award – presented by Fraikin

Above and Beyond

  • Jane Phillips, Managing Director, Pride & Joy, from Chesterfield


  • Tracey Clifford, General Manager, Wincanton, from Sheffield

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by FedEx

Above and Beyond

  • Katherine Parker, Senior Project Manager, J Sainsbury, from Warrington


  • Natalie Davidson, Head of Logistics Operations & Swindon DC General Manager, WH Smith, from Swindon

The Industry Champion Award – sponsored by Asda

  • Jo Moffatt, Market Partner for Strategic Rail, Atkins, from London

Male Agent of Change – sponsored by Siemens

  • David Hart, Director, Momentum Transport Consultancy, from London

The Apprentice of the Year Award – sponsored by Mott Macdonald

  • Elizabeth Coase, Trainee Deck Cadet, Shell International Ship Services, from Isle of Man

*New for 2020* International Inspiration Award – presented by Atkins Global 

  • Liliana Pereira, Head of Operations LATAM, Steer, from Mexico

Maxine Benson MBE, Co-Founder of everywoman, comments, “In our first ever online ceremony, we are thrilled to announce the winners of the 2020 Amazon everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards. Never before has the value of the transport and logistics sector been so highlighted as in 2020, when we ceased to take our supply chains for granted.  From those taking their first steps into the working world, to those women who have pioneered change and championed diversity throughout their long careers, our winners represent the outstanding talent that exists in the transport and logistics industry today. We are delighted to be able to celebrate the skill and dedication of these individuals, particularly in a year when the crucial role this sector plays has become so evident.”

Stefano Perego, VP Europe Customer Fulfilment, Amazon said “A huge congratulations to all the finalists and winners at this year’s Amazon everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards. Amazon is proud to support the everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards over the next three years and to recognise, highlight and celebrate the talented women who work and pioneer in this industry. As a company of builders who bring varying backgrounds, ideas, and points of view to inventing on behalf of our customers, we hope to inspire women to continue to drive innovation and new ways of thinking and to develop fulfilling careers by providing opportunities for those women.”

For further information, please visit

By Alison